Andhra Pradesh Withdraws Controversial 3-Capital Bill

Andhra Pradesh Withdraws Controversial 3-Capital Bill

YS Jagan Mohan Reddy is expected to make the big announcement in the state assembly. (File)

The state government in Andhra Pradesh has withdrawn the controversial three-capital bill after facing massive resistance from several quarters. The southern state had been witnessing protests for over two years over the proposed law. 

Three capitals were proposed in the bill - executive capital at Vizag, legislative capital at Amaravati, judicial capital at Kurnool.

Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy made the big announcement in the state assembly on Monday.

"We believed that decentralisation of capital is much needed in Andhra Pradesh. Government is going to take back the Bill which was introduced earlier. We will introduce a new Bill with no errors," Mr Reddy said in the state legislative assembly.

The decision to withdraw the contentious Decentralisation and Inclusive Development of all Regions Act - passed last year with an aim to set up three capitals for the state - was taken at an emergency meeting, sources said. 

Farmers and landowners were upset over the proposed law, claiming they had to leave their land for the development of the new capital. 

A 45-day foot march was kicked off from Amaravati to Tirupati by farmers on November 1. The demonstrators reached Nellore on Sunday.

In June, the Chief Minister had met Home Minister Amit Shah, seeking special category status to the state, besides nod for three bills, including this one.